Comprised of practicing, expert nurse leaders from every aspect of emergency nursing, BCEN’s Board of Directors oversees the organization’s strategic direction including activities pertaining to the quality, content, development and maintenance of exams and the certification process. Throughout the year and across the country, BCEN board members advocate for emergency nursing specialty certification and promote the value of board certification for nurses.


Meet our Board:

Lorie Ledford


MSN, RN, CEN, CFRN, CPEN, CTRN, TCRN, CCRN Mayo Clinic Arizona Hospital LinkedIn URL

Kyle Madigan


MSN, RN, CEN, CFRN, CTRN, CCRN, CMTE Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center LinkedIn URL

Rebecca Steinmann


MS, RN, APN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN, CCRN, CCNS, FAEN Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago LinkedIn URL

Kathleen Albert

Member at Large

MSN, RN, CNS, CEN, CPEN, TCRN Lowell General Hospital LinkedIn URL

Allen Wolfe

ASTNA Representative

MSN, RN, CFRN, CTRN, CCRN, CMTE Air Methods Corporation

Sean M. Elwell

STN Representative

MSN, RN, NE-BC, TCRN, EMT Alfred I duPont Hospital for Children

Andrew Veitch


BSN, RN, CFRN, CTRN, CCRN Stanford Health Care LinkedIn URL

Karen Wiley

ENA Representative

MSN, RN, CEN CHI Health Immanuel LinkedIn URL

Robert Corrao

Public Representative

LAC Group LinkedIn URL

Mary Whelan

Immediate Past Chairperson

MSN, RN, CEN Doylestown Hospital LinkedIn URL

Janie Schumaker

Executive Director

MBA, BSN, RN, CEN, CENP, CPHQ, FABC Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing LinkedIn URL