Champions of Emergency Nursing Certification Honored by Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing



CONTACT: Hilde Marnul, Director of Marketing & Communications





New Health System Award Introduced



(September 28, 2018) – The Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN) today announced the winners of its annual awards recognizing individuals and organizations who champion board certification for emergency nurses. BCEN also introduced a new award category for health systems.

BCEN’s annual Distinguished CEN Award recognizes one Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN) who has shown notable dedication to, and ongoing support for, board certification in emergency nursing. Held by more than 36,000 registered nurses around the world, the CEN is the foundational specialty certification in emergency nursing. BCEN’s annual Honorary Certification Recognition Award recognizes one organization in each of three categories—small facilities, large facilities and, new this year, health systems—for demonstrating exceptional support for emergency nursing specialty certification in adult/mixed care, pediatric care, flight, critical care ground transport, and/or trauma care.

“The forward-looking, barrier-breaking accomplishments of this year’s winners exemplify how to help more emergency nurses secure the time, resources, support and recognition they need and deserve to achieve and maintain board certification,” said BCEN Executive Director Janie Schumaker, MBA, BSN, RN, CEN, CPHQ, CENP, FABC. Board certification validates a nurse’s specialty knowledge and expertise, demonstrates a nurse’s commitment to excellence and promotes optimal patient outcomes.

“Our new health system award category recognizes that system-wide advocacy and support for certification is essential to optimizing the benefits a board certified emergency nurse workforce yields for patients and their families, nurses and healthcare teams, and organizations and communities,” added Schumaker.

The 2018 winners are:

Distinguished CEN Award:

Wilmar Flores, BSN, RN, CEN, Assistant Nurse Manager, La Jolla Emergency Department, University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Health Systems. Flores resides in Chula Vista, CA.

Honorary Certification Recognition Awards:

Small Facility: USC Verdugo Hills Hospital in Glendale, CA

Large Facility: Chilton Medical Center in Pompton Plains, NJ

Health System: UCHealth Emergency Care – Northern Colorado

The awards were presented this morning by BCEN Board Chair Lorie Ledford, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN, CCRN, CFRN, CTRN, at BCEN’s annual breakfast event held during the Emergency Nurses Association annual conference in Pittsburgh, PA. Details about the winners’ accomplishments will be featured on BCEN’s new website, bcen.org, along with information about the 2018 Distinguished CFRN/CTRN Award and Distinguished TCRN Award winners, who were announced earlier this year.


About the Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing

The nonprofit Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN®) develops robust certification exams fostering empowered nurses across the emergency spectrum who contribute noticeably to patient care, safety and outcomes. Nearly 48,500 BCEN certifications are currently held by registered nurses (RNs) who specialize in emergency, flight, critical care ground transport, pediatric emergency and trauma nursing. BCEN offers the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®), Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®), Certified Transport Registered Nurse (CTRN®) and the Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN®) certifications. The CEN, CFRN, and CPEN certifications are accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC), the only accrediting body specifically for nursing certifications. Learn more at bcen.org. Follow BCEN on Facebook and LinkedIn.


#  #  #