Nominate a Specialty Certified Nurse for BCEN’s 2024 Distinguished Awards


Nominate a Specialty Certified Nurse for BCEN’s 2024 Distinguished Awards

National Awards Aim to Recognize Top Board Certified Emergency, Trauma & Transport RNs


WHAT: With its annual, national Distinguished Awards, the Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN) seeks to recognize one top board certified nurse in five emergency nursing specialties for certified nursing excellence in their specialty practice and for their advocacy and support of specialty nursing certification.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2024 BCEN Distinguished Awards as follows:

    • Distinguished CEN Award (emergency)
    • Distinguished CPEN Award (pediatric emergency)
    • Distinguished CFRN Award (flight)
    • Distinguished CTRN Award (critical care ground transport)
    • Distinguished TCRN Award (trauma)

*Plans are in the works for the future introduction of the Distinguished CBRN Award to recognize a top board certified burn nurse.

WHO: To be eligible to be nominated or nominate themselves for a BCEN Distinguished Award, nurses must hold the relevant specialty credential and be practicing in that specialty area. Nominees should demonstrate both a distinguished level of nursing excellence in their specialty and exceptional or innovative advocacy for nursing specialty certification.

WHEN: Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 15, 2024 by 11:59 pm CT. Nominators and nominees must submit complete information by the deadline.

HOW: To nominate a nurse, visit https://bcen.org/distinguished-award-nominations/

Visit https://bcen.org/awards for complete eligibility criteria and nomination information.

Following the announcement of the 2024 Distinguished Award winners this spring, BCEN will honor the recipients with a celebration to be held at each nurse’s workplace.     

About BCEN

Founded in 1980, the independent, not-for-profit Board of Certification for Emergency Nursing (BCEN®) offers robust nursing specialty certification programs fostering empowered nurses across the emergency spectrum who contribute noticeably to patient care, safety and outcomes. Over 60,000 BCEN credentials are held by registered nurses (RNs) who specialize in emergency, pediatric emergency, flight, critical care ground transport, trauma, and burn nursing. BCEN offers the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®), Certified Transport Registered Nurse (CTRN®), Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN®), and Certified Burn Registered Nurse (CBRN). The CEN, CPEN, CFRN, CTRN and TCRN certification programs are accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC) and are ANCC Magnet-accepted. Learn more at bcen.org.


CONTACT: Hilde Marnul, Director of Marketing & Communications | hmarnul@bcen.org | 630-352-0811